Eight Limbs of Yoga


The word “yoga” comes from the Sanskrit word yuj, which can be translated into “yoking” or “union.” In yoga we are celebrating the union of our mind, body, soul, and spirit.



The word sutra means “to thread or weave” just as the English word suture means “to stitch together.” The Sutras of Patanjali are divided into four sections/padas. The practice of yoga comes from section two called the Sadhana Pada. Ashtanga means “eight” and refers to Patanjali’s eight limbs or branches of yoga. Each branch, when practiced, is designed to help the practitioner live a more disciplined life with the goal of alleviating suffering. These eight concepts and steps act as guidelines to CULTIVATE a purposeful, intentional and directed life.



In very short, these eight limbs can be explained as :

1. yama (moral restraints) – how we relate to others
2. niyama (observances) – how we relate to ourselves
3. āsana (posture) – how we relate to our body
4. prāṇāyāma (breath extension) – how we relate to our breath or spirit


From here inward journey starts,
5. pratyāhāra (sensory withdrawal) – how we relate to our sense organs
6. dhāraṇā (concentration) – how we relate to our mind
7. dhyāna (meditation) – moving beyond the mind
8. samādhi (meditative absorption) – deep realization and inner union

To attain the Samadhi is the aim of Yoga and these 8 limbs helps us to achieve the same.


If you want to Learn Yoga at your place or wanted to take up online classes you can join : Online Yoga Classes


Saurabh Shelar
Love & Light <3

Post Your Thoughts

Message us for queries regarding Courses

Apply Now